Roger Andersen, former Ames Band Director passes

Sadly, we call to your attention the passing of retired Ames band director, Roger Anderson passed.  Below is a link to his obituary and funeral arrangements.

Family, laughter, community, music and travel were what Roger loved best. He was a member of many bands including the 3rd Armored Division Band, the Karl King Band, and the Heart of Iowa Senior Band, as well as a variety of others. Roger shared his love of music and had an impact on the lives of thousands of students over 38 years of teaching. Roger was loved by many and will be truly missed.

In Memory of Joe Turner

  Joseph Edward Turner, 43, passed away April 11, 2018 in Omaha, NE. Services will be held at West Des Moines Christian Church, 4501 Mills Civic Parkway in West Des Moines, IA with visitation on Monday, April 16 from 4 to 7 p.m. and the funeral service on Tuesday, April 17 at 1:00 p.m.

Joseph was born July 3, 1974 to Marilyn (Willis) and Tom Turner. He graduated from Valley High School and went on to Truman State where he achieved his MAE and MA in conducting and composition. He later received a Specialist Degree in educational administration from Drake University. Joseph was the Band Director for several West Des Moines schools including Valley High School and Stilwell Junior High, and was a member of the Des Moines Big Band (tenor sax).

He is survived by his wife of 16 years, Jenny; his pride and joy son, Anderson; his parents, Tom and Marilyn Turner; sister, Lisa (Greg) Wall and their children, Olivia and Connor; his mother-in-law, Judy Swain; brother-in-law, Bryan Swain; and a host of other family members and friends. Joseph was preceded in death by his father-in-law, Shelby Swain.

In lieu of flowers, donations may be directed to the Lymphoma Research Foundation or to the West Des Moines Schools Student Scholarship Fund in memory of Joseph. Condolences at 

Leland Cook Obituary

  Newton - Leland L. Cook, a long-time resident of Newton, died on March 27, 2018, two weeks prior to his 101st birthday at Newton's Park Centre where he had resided since 1994.

Leland was active in IBA at the state level, elected twice by his peers to serve as President of the Iowa Bandmasters Association and later became President of the Iowa Music Educators Association. He also judged many high school music contests on behalf of the Iowa High School Music Association. Complete obituary can be found here

Conference Credit now available for Registration

Looking for  a way to gain re-licensure credits? Want to move up on the salary scale? Check out the professional development opportunities for the conference. Click here Conference Credit information.

AEA PD ONLINE – Building your Instrumental Music Program 2018

Registration Deadline May 10, 2018

Available for 1 Graduate or License Renewal credit

AEA PD Online Activity Number - 22044499991801

15 hours logged time at conference; post conference online class.The activity objectives, requirements and syllabus are listed on the AEA PD Online page.

This professional development opportunity is a combination of an online course and attendance at the Iowa Bandmasters conference.

Register through the AEA PD Online website.

The conference credit opportunities are now open for registration.

If there is a waitlist, please still register. We will work to make sure all who wish to receive credit have the opportunity.

Questions? Contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

91st Annual IBA Conference

May 9 - 12, 2018

Des Moines Marriott Downtown

700 Grand Avenue

Des Moines, Iowa  50309